Archive for June 18, 2009

Imagination By Reality

“The use of travelling is to regulate imagination by reality,
and instead of thinking how things may be, to see them as they are.”

I have a wild imagination. It has taken me to some amazing places…in my head.  But thanks to my love of travel I am able to give my imagination a breather while also rejuvenating it with the wonderment I experience on my journeys. 

In 2007-2008 I lived in Ireland. One of my fondest memories is lying on a massive tree branch in Rock Close on the grounds of Blarney Castle. I remember thinking “If I didn’t know better I’d swear I was on the film set of Lord of the Rings.”   The gardens are like a fairytale come to life.  I wanted to lie there all day and write a children’s book.

With each step the gardens draw you in more and more.  They almost cast a spell on you. It felt as if the forest would come alive at any moment.  Large wondrous trees stemmed out of the ground shadowing you from the light of the sun. Their expansive trunks and sinewy branches were twisted and haggard showing their age.  They resembled giants and at times I thought they would speak to me.  This is the awe-inspiring fantasy land of Rock Close. I encourage you to visit Ireland and make a day trip to Blarney to capture the essence of this amazing place.   

Next stop on the imagination station?  London!  Paris!  Las Vegas!  New York City!

I always dreamed about hitting the streets of these famous cities.  Each offers the exciting nightlife, romance and intrigue that can only be truly experienced in person. 

I feel London could become a true best friend although Paris offers some stellar views and exquisite cuisine.  Or I could make like Carrie Bradshaw in the city of all cities, New York.  I love the idea of jet-setting around with my oversized sunglasses, designer bag and Mr. Big on my arm.  It could happen!? 

Only time will tell which one will be my top choice.  I am sure it won’t be easy to choose but I know I am going to love every last minute of it! 

Until next time keep your passport close and eyes on the skies.  Your next trip is closer than you think!

Cheers,
Heather

Where does your imagination take you?   
Set your imagination free and start planning your next trip at
www.maritimetravel.ca. 

Links of Interest:
www.blarneycastle.ie
www.iloveny.com
www.en.parisinfo.com

www.visitlondon.com
www.visitlasvegas.com

June 18, 2009 at 2:24 pm Leave a comment


Feeds

Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930